Cinema/Chicago News

Chicago International Film Festival Secures $35,000 Grant from the NEA

Published: January 30, 2024  |  Filed under: News & Announcements

The Chicago International Film Festival is pleased to announce it has been approved by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) for a Grants for Arts Projects award of $35,000.

This grant will support the 60th Chicago International Film Festival taking place October 16-27, 2024. In total, the NEA will award 958 Grants for Arts Projects awards totaling more than $27.1 million that were announced as part of its first round of fiscal year 2024 grants.

“The NEA is delighted to announce this grant to the Chicago International Film Festival, which is helping contribute to the strength and well-being of the arts sector and local community,” said National Endowment for the Arts Chair Maria Rosario Jackson, PhD. “We are pleased to be able to support this community and help create an environment where all people have the opportunity to live artful lives.”

“As we celebrate our 60th anniversary this year, we are especially grateful for this continuing support from the NEA and their belief in the power of cinema to transport, to transform, and to unite communities,” said Managing Director Vivian Teng. “This grant will help us continue to enrich our community through cinematic storytelling and to connect filmmakers, artists, and audiences.

Celebrating its 60th edition October 16-27, 2024, the Chicago International Film Festival is North America’s longest-running competitive international film festival. Showcasing acclaimed and exciting new films from around the world, the 60th edition will be held in person in theaters and venues around the city. From dramas and thrillers to documentaries and comedies, the Festival presents a vast diversity of offerings, featuring competitive categories and programs including Black Perspectives; International Comedy; Women in Cinema; OutLook; After Dark; and the City & State program, showcasing films made in Chicago and throughout Illinois.

Share this page: