Television Awards Night 2017


53rd Chicago International Television Awards

The results are in! See below for a recap of the 53rd Chicago International Television Awards.


Joe Sedelmaier – Chicago Legend Award

Joe Sedelmaier will be honored with the Chicago Legend Award. A graduate of the Art Institute of Chicago, Sedelmaier began his career as an Art Director for the advertising agencies of Young and Rubicam and J. Walter Thompson. Starting his own production company in 1967, he built an international reputation for his highly prized direction of humorous television commercials for such clients as Federal Express (including the “Fast Talking Man”), Alaska Airlines, Mr. Coffee, Sprint, Aamco, HP (Great Britain), Tang (France), EuropAsstance (Italy), Dannon (Germany) and the creation of the famous “Where’s The Beef” commercial for Wendy’s. His commercial work has garnered countless Clio awards, Gold Lions (Cannes) and numerous awards from the One Show, Chicago Film Festival (Golden Hugo), the Art Directors of New York, Communication Arts, Britain’s D&AD and the Hollywood MBA. In 2000, he was inducted into The New York Art Directors Club Hall of Fame and in 2016 was inducted into the American Advertising Federation Hall of Fame.

Dean Richards – Chicago Award

Dean Richards, WGN-TV’s Emmy Award-winning entertainment reporter and critic, will receive this year’s Chicago Award. A Chicago native, Richards joined WGN-TV as a staff announcer in 1991, and in 1998, he appeared as a guest reviewer and was brought onboard as a regular contributor soon after. His entertainment reports and reviews are seen on “WGN Morning News,” “WGN Midday News,” “WGN Evening News” and “WGN News at Nine,” where he interviews national and local celebrities, reports on showbiz and reviews the latest movies. He has also hosted and co-produced specials such as the award-winning “Bozo, Gar & Ray: WGN TV Classics,” the Oscar preview special “The Envelope Please” and “Stories of Hope: Facing Breast Cancer.” In 2016, he was inducted into the Chicago Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences’ Silver Circle. On and off the air, Dean has been a tireless advocate for HIV/AIDS issues, hosting charitable functions and supporting “AIDS Run & Walk Chicago,” “Dance for Life Chicago,” Howard Brown Health Center, Center on Halsted, Open Hand Chicago and Stop AIDS Chicago. For over 25 years, Richards was part of the Jerry Lewis MDA Telethon benefitting the Muscular Dystrophy Association.

Amazon Studios – Commitment to Excellence in Television Production

Amazon Studios will receive the Commitment to Excellence in Television Production Award. Amazon Studios launched in 2010 as a new way to develop feature films and episodic series—one that is open to great ideas from creators and audiences around the world. Anyone can upload a script online for Amazon Studios to review, and those who choose to make their projects public can also receive feedback from the Amazon Studios community. Amazon Studios is known for bringing Prime members the multi-Golden Globe-winning and Emmy-winning series “Transparent,” multi-Golden Globe winning series “Mozart in the Jungle” and the Emmy-winning series “The Man in the High Castle,” along with original hits like “Red Oaks,” “Bosch,” “Hand of God” and “Catastrophe.” Prime members also have access to a collection of Amazon Original Series for kids such as “Annedroids,” “Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street,” “Wishenpoof,” and the Annecy, multi-Annie and multi-Emmy Award-winning “Tumble Leaf.”