Cinema Chicago Logo

2011 — 47th Chicago Film Festival


International Feature Film Competition
Gold Hugo Le Havre (Director: Aki Kaurismäki)
Silver Hugo - Best Actor Mohamed Diab (Cairo 678)
Silver Hugo - Best Actress Olivia Colman (Tyrannosaur)
Silver Hugo - Best Screenplay Joshua Marston (The Forgiveness of Blood)

New Directors Competition
Gold Hugo The Good Son (Director: Zaida Bergroth)
Silver Hugo Volcano (Director: Rúnar Rúnarsson)

Docufest Competition
Gold Hugo Cinema Komunisto (Director: Mila Turajlic)
Silver Hugo Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel (Director: Lisa Immordino Vreeland)
Gold Plaque Salaam Dunk (Director: David Fine)
Silver Plaque All Me: The Life and Times of Winfred Rembert (Director: Vivian Ducat)
Certificate of Merit Ending Note: Death of a Japanese Salesman (Director: Mami Sunada)

After Dark Competition
Gold Hugo Snowtown (Director: Justin Kurzel)
Silver Hugo A Lonely Place to Die (Director: Julian Gibley)

Short Film Competition
Gold Hugo - Best Short Film The Eagleman Stag (Director: Michael Please)
Silver Hugo - Best Animated Short Birdboy (Director: Alberto Vazquez)
Silver Hugo - Best Documentary Short Caretaker For The Lord (Director: Jane McAllister)
Silver Hugo - Best Narrative Short The Unliving (Director: Hugo Lijia)
Gold Plaque The Extraordinary Life of Rocky (Director: Kevin Meul)
Gold Plaque - Best Student Short (animated) Belly (Director: Julia Pott)
Gold Plaque - Best Student Short (documentary) Goodbye, Mandima (Director: Robert-Jan Lacombe)
Special Mention Grandmothers (Director: Afarin Eghbal)

Audience Choice Awards
Founder's Award for Favorite Feature The Artist (Director: Michel Hazanavicious)
Favorite Feature Almanya: Welcome to Germany (Director: Yasemin Samdereli)
Favorite Documentary Undefeated (Directors: Dan Lindasay & T.J. Martin)

Chicago Award L Train (Director: Anna Musso)